Back to RILA:   Home | Join | Advocacy | News | Bulletin | Contact | My Account

A Section of the Rhode Island Library Association

SLRI Awards - Linda Aldrich Leadership Award

The Linda Aldrich Leadership Award honors the life of Linda Aldrich, library media specialist at Bristol High School and vice-chairperson of the Middletown School Committee when she died in 1989. She was admired and respected because she believed and advocated that being active and involved was the essence of life. The award is given to someone who brings these qualities to the library profession. 

2023 applications are now open!


  • Who is eligible for this award? Any current SLRI member in good standing (current SLRI Executive Board members--officers, immediate past president, standing committee chairs, members-at-large--are not eligible for this award)
  • Who may nominate for this award? Any current SLRI member in good standing may make one nomination per school year
  • When will the award be announced? At the RILA Annual Conference 
  • What form does the award take? Esteemed recognition on behalf of SLRI and a customized token of appreciation

Submission Guidelines: 

  • The application must show that the nominee demonstrates leadership qualities, commitment, and involvement in the library profession.
  • Nominations are due by midnight on April 17, 2023.
  • At least 3 readers will review each application using the attached rubric.
  • Descriptions of the winning entry may be posted to the SLRI website
  • Incomplete or late entries will be disqualified
  • The purpose of this award is to recognize excellence as defined by the criteria and rubric posted above; SLRI reserves the right to withhold the award if submissions do not meet these requirements
  • Please note that award eligibility, application, selection, and submission criteria may be changed at the discretion of the SLRI Awards Chair and/or the SLRI Executive Board.
Email questions about this award or about the nomination process to with “Linda Aldrich” in the subject line. 

Previous Recipients:

  • 2019 - Sue Rose, Cranston Public Schools
  • 2012 - Jackie Lamoureux
  • 2007 - Dorothy Frechette
  • 2006 - Phyllis Humphrey
  • 2004 - Holly Barton
  • 2002 - Livia Giroux
  • 2001 - Joe Light
  • 2000 - Donna Good
  • 1999 - Barbara Ashby
  • 1998-Connie Malinowski Zack
  • 1997 - Karen Shore
  • 1996 - Susan Bryan
  • 1995 - Bette Dion
  • 1994 - Margaret Bierden
  • 1993 - Linda Wood
  • 1992 - George Donovan, Michael Mello, Paul Venancio
  • 1991 - Dr. Patricia Jensen
  • 1990 - Louis Leveillee
  • 1989 - Harriet Lapointe
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software